Saturday, July 21, 2018

ThrillerFest 2018: International Thriller Writers Announce 2018 ITW Thriller Awards

During ThrillerFest 2018, the International Thriller Writers (ITW) announced the winners of the 2018 awards.

George R. R. Martin won the Thrillermaster Award.  The ITW Facebook page has a video of the award ceremony and a hilarious spoof of Game of Thrones.  Watch it here.

James Rollins won the Silver Bullet Award.
Here are the other category winners:

BEST YOUNG ADULT NOVEL: The Rains by Gregg Hurwitz (Tor Teen) (Check out his Orphan X series)

BEST E-BOOK ORIGINAL NOVEL: Second Chance by Sean Black (Sean Black)

BEST SHORT STORY: Charcoal and Cherry by Zoe Z. Dean (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)

BEST PAPERBACK ORIGINAL NOVEL:  Grievance by Christine Bell (Lake Union)

BEST FIRST NOVEL: The Freedom Broker by K.J. Howe (Quercus)

BEST HARDCOVER NOVELFinal Girls by Riley Sager (Dutton)

I'd like to thank ITW and Meryl Moss Media for access to CraftFest and ThrillerFest.  Meryl Moss Media describes ThrillerFest as "the only event where you can find New York Times best-selling authors lurking every single corner, literary agents actually appearing in broad daylight and fans conspiring with the most feared and revered names of the thriller genre".  

There are numerous stories of writing friendships that were made at ThrillerFest and have grown over the years.  Certainly, the warm welcome to new writers and inspiring writers at CraftFest and ThrillerFest is unusual and inspiring.

No comments:

Post a Comment